In plays, I have always loved when actors break the fourth wall and directly address the audience. Well-thought out monologues are always the most successful, and even more important is how the actor delivers the lines.

Since Shakespeare is already a brilliantly eloquent writer, it is all a matter of the syntax and the stress and pitch the actor puts on Prospero’s famous epilogue.

Here’s a video of an actor that I thought did a pretty good job in delivering the lines…and even if it’s not the best, I definitely got a better understanding of the way the speech was intended to be heard. I always find that helpful in any play I see. Tell me what you guys think of the ending…it’s probably edited to be that way…but I personally thought it was a good, although simple, ending to show the closing of Prospero’s story.

~Lauren

