All this talk about dreams has made me crazy. Is it just me?

But one connection I made with Prospero’s line, “We are such stuff / As dreams are made on, and our little life / Is rounded with a sleep” (4, 1, 173-175), was Tangled! Aka the best movie ever.

In Tangled, the whole theme of the movie is finding your dream. Rapunzel wants to see the floating lights that appear every year on her birthday. Flynn Rider wants to live in his own island, lounging on enormous piles of money. They even have a song where barbarians and thugs sing about their dreams which include being a concert pianist, collecting unicorns, and finding true love.

Now, Prospero’s quote, for me when I inferred it, also meant that our lives are based on our dreams and we have to fulfill it and find new dreams when we achieve our old ones. And I remember in Tangled, there were these two parts that stood out to me that really echo Prospero’s words.

The first part is when Rapunzel is waiting for the floating lanterns to come out, and she beings to panic.

Rapunzel: I’ve been looking out of a window for eighteen years, dreaming about what I might feel like when those lights rise in the sky. What if it’s not everything I dreamed it would be?
Flynn Rider: It will be.
Rapunzel: And what if it is? What do I do then?
Flynn Rider: Well, that’s the good part I guess. You get to go find a new dream.

And of course, the cheesy part where Flynn is about to die because the evil stepmother stabbed him.

Flynn Rider: You were my new dream.
Rapunzel: [crying] And you were mine.

But anyway, not only is Tangled a FANTASTIC movie (if you haven’t seen it, please go see it!), but the idea of achieving your dream is prevalent. The power of the dream, the will to achieve it are really important. Because honestly, life is too short to sit back and wonder what could have happened. Go out there and chase that dream down.

Keep dreaming,

Ashley

 

