I found an article that states that the Tucson Unified School District banned Shakespeare’s The Tempestless than a month ago! It is stated that this happened because they ended their ethnic studies program. The article explains, “In a meeting this week, administrators informed Mexican-American studies teachers to stay away from any units where ‘race, ethnicity and oppression are central themes.'” In my opinion, the banning of books is a form of oppression; the TUSD is unjustly controlling and monitoring the reading of books in schools, and I believe that it is important to address any and all issues in literature classes.

Previously in our class, we discussed banned books, and though that perhaps we should collectively read some banned books together as a class to make a stand against the offense. I’m glad that we are finally getting around to reading a banned book, although it isn’t banned in our state, I believe. Nevertheless, I disagree with the TUSD’s decision and am appalled at the barring of books!

Here is the article with information on the subject: http://www.salon.com/2012/01/13/whos_afraid_of_the_tempest/

-Jennifer

