I recently came across an old interview with Toni Morrison surrounding the challenges she’s faced as a black female writer. First of all, I found it fascinating to actually hear Morrison’s personal views that we often try to divulge in class through her writing in Sula. One thing that struck out to me was what she said she did as a beginning writer, “[I said] the opposite of what I was expected to say.”

I felt that this really struck a chord to how we’ve been describing Sula’s world: a topsy turvy society that is really embodied by unexpectedness because of its rawness in description, and frighteningly truthful portrayals of human nature. Through the interview, I could feel the daringness and quiet rebellion in Morrison that I feel lends itself to the creation of a character like Sula. I really encourage you guys to hear the genius behind Sula.

Happy Chinese New Year,

Celine

