http://www.mariettatimes.com/page/content.detail/id/529894/Loose-adaptations-of-classics.html

I found this article online and it sparked my interest towards learning about movies that have a modern twist on classic books, such as Emma and The Scarlet Letter. Both of these books have had a major role in culture in the past, but by creating remakes that grab the interest of teens, literature is reaching out to a whole new generation. Emma, also known as “Clueless,” which was made in 1995, happens to be one of the only movies I remember from my childhood. Having seen the movie, reading the book has been more enjoyable because I can relate characters from Emma to the characters in Clueless. The movie, “Easy A,” is also mentioned in this article. When I heard we were reading The Scarlet Letter this year, I couldn’t wait because I had loved the movie and wanted to compare it to the classic novel. Is the entertainment industry bringing back the classics?

-Kendall

